June Ipsy and Birchbox Breakdowns

This month’s Birchbox didn’t have ANY makeup, but I still liked what I got. It included:

june 2013 birchbox wanderlust

A minty, pistachio nail polish – London Calling from the Color Club Wanderlust Collection ($8 for a set of four mini polishes). I thought it was weird in the bottle, but I really like it on my fingers. This is a Birchbox exclusive, and they say it’s supposed to be a combination of pastel and neon. It actually is, which is pretty cool. It’s pale yet vibrant. In the early 90’s we called it Day-Glo, I don’t know if anyone else remembers that. Considering how big 90’s fashion is getting (YAY), expect day-glo to be the next big thing. It was one of my favorite things to wear when I was little.
london calling pastel neon mint birchbox color club wanderlust nail polish
This nail polish alone made the box worthwhile for me. I love it so much and I’ve gotten several compliments.

Then we have the less exciting (but still useful) stuff:

Klorane Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk ($18). This one speaks for itself, dry shampoo is dry shampoo. This is definitely a nicer one and dry shampoo can be a real lifesaver when I don’t have time to wash and style my hair before running out the door (this happens more frequently than I’d like to admit). However, I don’t think I’d pay $18 when I know I can buy something similar at Ulta for $7.99.

Tweezerman Matchbox Itty Bitty Nail Files ($4) What? Why? These are cute, but they seem like a novelty product. I don’t file my nails often, so the cute, Madewell emery board they sent me a couple of months ago is enough. And why would I ever need to take a box full of mini emery boards with me? If the idea is to save space, then why not just one tiny nail file and not a whole box full of them? I mean, they’re cute and they work perfectly well, but this is impractical. I now have enough nail files to last me forever. Please no more, Birchbox.

SW Basics Lip Balm ($15 for a 4-pack) – I’ve been getting more and more into healthy, ethically made organic products, so I really like this. The smell is pleasant and it feels nice and soft. Way better than standard chapstick.

Suki Exfoliate Foaming Cleanser ($32.95) This stuff really worked! The exfoliating bits are REALLY gritty and it felt like sandpaper on my skin, but my face did feel super soft and smooth later.

Then there’s the June Ipsy Glam Bag, which was ALL makeup (and how great is that neon and leopard bag?). I got:

ispy glam bag june 2013

Nyx Powder Blush in Angel ($4.99). I already have this same blush since I have tons of Nyx, so I may give this to a friend. Still a great product.

Cailyn Line-Fix Gel Eyeliner with Built-In Brush ($21) This was really nice and I love the built in brush! This will be really great for storing in my bag without worrying about a brush rattling around, getting lost or dirty.

J.Cat Beauty Eyelashes + Eyelash Glue 66 ($3.99) I haven’t tried them yet, but they seem promising and they say they’re real human hair. I was looking around at the J. Cat website, and their packaging looks a lot like the old Nyx line. I guess it’s the same manufacturer? This is good, since their prices are a little cheaper than Nyx’s. I’m going to have to try some more of their stuff!

J. Cat Beauty Sparkling Cream Palette in Suzie ($4.49), I’m a little too old for body glitter, but this is still a fun freebie. It’s not meant to be used on eyes, however I tried it out anyway.  The key is to pat it on in thin layers so it doesn’t smudge into clumps.

Here it is with just a thin layer of the rose gold glitter. Just a subtle, pretty sheen:j cat glitter cream palette rose gold

Then I added a little more and tried it with the Cailyn liner and filled in lips with the Starlooks Lip Pencil in Tipsy ($12), covered in clear lip balm. I didn’t expect much from the Starlooks pencil, but it was actually really nice and creamy.

ipsy june glam bag j cat glitter palette cailyn line fix gel eyeliner purple

Just to see how far I could take it, I added even MORE and did glitter lips, too. I mean, I wouldn’t wear this look except as a costume, but this is a blog about fun with makeup, so I went for it.

ipsy june glam bag j cat glitter sparkling cream palette look
ipsy june glam bag j cat glitter palette suzi cailyn line fix gel eyeliner purple
glittery sparkle lips

What is up with me covering myself in glitter lately? I’m not reverting to a tween, I promise.

7 thoughts on “June Ipsy and Birchbox Breakdowns

  1. Aughhh, I’m so jealous! So THAT’S the green you’ve been wearing in your last few posts! I have been meaning to ask every time I saw it. I just got my Birchbox this morning before I left for work – got the purple Pardon My French. Since my last Ipsy bag had Zoya’s Julie (shimmery wisteria purple), I was kind of disappointed to see another purple polish… We’ll see how it works out when I try it on, I guess.

    (I’ve also totally fallen off of keeping up with my own reviewing/blogging.)

    I love the glittery lips. I think you look fabulous.

    • I got that same Zoya! I was actually afraid of the exact same thing when I saw that there was a purple option for this month’s Birchbox. They might look nice layered, the Color Club polishes are a lot more vibrant than they look in the bottle and the lilac shimmer could add some dimension.

      Thanks for cosigning on my glitter obsession! I’ve been getting weird with my makeup lately.

  2. 1990’s WAS the Glitter Decade! I was in high school for part of the 90’s and we would show up for class covered in glitter, wearing fur pants. I can’t have any part of this 90’s revival! You know what they say, “if you’re old enough to have worn it the first time around, don’t wear it again!” Except for plaid flannel shirts, those are timeless.
    Ahem, sorry – was going to comment about your Birchbox. That skin care company Suki seems to have a product in every “box,” I’ve really liked everything I’ve tried of theirs. I think they are on Haute Look now, or at least they were recently.

    • It’s true, I shouldn’t go full on 90’s having been through it once before (no jelly sandals for me!). That said, I may still try to get away with incorporating it in more subtle ways.

      This was my first encounter with Suki, but so far so good!

  3. Pingback: June 2013 Birchbox » Literatrix

Leave a comment