Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball and Jean Queen Swatches

If you’ve been with me for a while, you may remember that I’m a pretty big fan of Lipstick Queen’s products. They’re so creamy and lovely and the packaging feels luxe and high quality. They feel more like lip balms than lipstick. I’ve only ever worn the sheer products from the line, so I can’t comment on the more opaque lipsticks, but I strongly advocate these translucent versions. I just got two new lippies from them in the Ulta exclusive “Sheer Days and Shimmer Nights” set ($30), and I’d like to share them with you.

First is Lipstick Queen Jean Queen Lipstick ($20). This is supposed to pair well with denim, which is odd since denim is supposed to go with everything as it is. Maybe they were going for a laid back, “I put effort into how I look, but didn’t overdo it” type of casual polish that you get from wearing a great pair of jeans.

lipstick queen jean queen sheer lipstick queen jean queen

So like all Lipstick Queen products, this feels amazing on. I have four of their lipsticks and all of them feel more “buttery” than even the nicest lip butter. It’s a balm and lipstick in one, which is great. This is a coral-pink sort of shade that should flatter everyone. It looks neutral in the tube but I think it leans slightly cool on me. It has sheer to medium opacity, and has a higher gloss finish than the other lipsticks in this post. In fact, Lipstick Queen also makes a matching Jean Queen gloss, but I don’t know why you’d need that when this is so shiny like a gloss, yet feels lightweight and non-sticky. The wear time isn’t great, but it does wear off evenly so you don’t end up with an unfortunate ombre mouth. I would definitely recommend this lipstick, especially if you can get it in a set, since I love bundling products and saving money.

lipstick queen jean queen sheer lipstick lipstick queen jean queen swatch

Next is Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball Shimmer Treatment Lipstick in Moment ($24). This was not what I expected. I have another Butterfly Ball lipstick (more on that in a sec), and they’re kind of magical in that they’re covered in turquoise micro glitter that blends in almost imperceptibly when applied. The greenish tinge is slightly noticeable when it catches the light, but regardless of how weird that sounds, it gives more of an ethereal effect in real life. This isn’t for everyone, but it makes me feel like a fairy every time I apply it.

lipstick queen butterfly ball lipstick moment lipstick queen butterfly ball shimmer treatment lipstick in moment

This shade looks like a very dark berry in the tube, but is so sheer that it turns into more of a vibrant cherry red when applied. I was kind of taken aback by the difference, but it’s still pretty. It feels rather chic to me, like the sort of product that wears well on its own and somehow makes you look really pulled-together without any other makeup. It isn’t buildable, so the color stays the same and any layering just adds to the glossiness and the teal shift. The jury’s still out on this one. I think I like it? I like the idea of it, it feels great and I do think it looks good, it just wasn’t what I expected, so cognitive dissonance is making this hard to accept for me. This isn’t about me, though. This is about you and what you would like to put on your face. So check out the swatches and decide for yourself!

One layer:
lipstick queen butterfly ball lipstick moment swatch

Layered as much as it can go:lipstick queen butterfly ball lipstick swatch in moment sheer red lips

Just for comparison’s sake, I thought I’d also show you my other Butterfly Ball Lipstick in Smitten, from the Lipstick Queen Look of Love set ($48). I wear this a lot, although it may look much paler on many people than the vibrant pink-nude you see below. Word to the wise.

lipstick queen butterfly ball lipstick smitten lipstick queen butterfly ball lipstick smitten swatch

And here are all three swatched on my arm. These are so emollient that it was actually hard to get any of them to swatch well. These are clearly formulated for lips, not arms. It’s also surprising how similar these all look here considering how different they are in the tube! You can definitely see here how glossy and creamy Jean Queen is.

lipstick queen butterfly ball jean queen swatches

L-R: Moment, Smitten, Jean Queen.

2 thoughts on “Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball and Jean Queen Swatches

  1. WOW!!! Those are beautiful lipstick shades! They really compliment your skin tone. I will say that is how lipstick should look–as if it is your natural lip color. Now I am obsessed for finding the dupes!!!

    • Thank you!

      If you’re looking for drugstore dupes, I think the Maybelline Color Whisper range looks pretty similar from the swatches I’ve seen. “Who wore it red-er” looks a lot like a shimmer-free version of the butterfly ball in Moment and Coral Ambition seems close to Jean Queen. I don’t know how they look in real life or how they feel on, but Maybelline lip products are usually pretty good.

      Good luck finding a dupe that you like!

Leave a Reply

