Milani Cosmetics Review

I’ve read a lot of good things about Milani and I already love their Liquid Eye Pencils ($6.99) as mentioned here, so I decided to pick up a few things on a recent Walgreens trip. Here’s what I got:

Milani Brilliant Shine Lip Gloss in Luminous ($5.99).

milani brilliant shine lipgloss luminousmilani brilliant shine lipgloss doefoot applicator milani lip gloss luminous swatchmilani brilliant shine lipgloss luminous swatch

This was sheerer than I expected based on the packaging, but it might just be that it’s too close to my natural lip color. It felt just a little thick, but not sticky, and it actually left a nice, balmy feel when it wore off. The balminess lasted a few hours, so I consider it pretty hydrating. It also made my lips feel very smooth, which I liked (you can see in the picture above how the lip lines are almost invisible). From what I’ve seen online the other colors are more pigmented, and this is the only color with any glitter that I saw at the store, although that may just have been what was in stock. This is a great low-price lip gloss, although it would be too thick for those who prefer the feel of a lipstick.

Milani Illuminating Face Powder in Hermosa Rose 02 ($8.99).

Milani Illuminating Face Powder Hermosa Rose 02 packaging Milani Illuminating Face Powder Hermosa Rose 02 swatchMilani Illuminating Face Powder Hermosa Rose swatch

 

This was super pretty and subtle, very even and VERY sheer. I love how subtle it is and how evenly it applied, but it’s a tricky shade. It’s a very light color even on me, so I think this would only work as a blush/contour on very fair skinned girls, or as a highlighter on darker skinned girls. I don’t know that this would do anything for a medium skintone. The swatch on my face is after layering it up a bit more than I normally would just to see how it builds, but I was happy with how natural it looked when I used a little less. It’s a great formula if you can make it work for your complexion.

Milani Total Lash Cover Mascara in Black 105 ($4.49)

milani total lash mascara packaging milani total lash mascara hybrid brushmilani total lash mascara before and aftermilani total lash mascara review

This product has been around for a couple years, but its crazy bristles and low price drew me in. The color is good and the results were great! A lot of bloggers have complained about the brush size. I can see that, but it worked well enough for me and I really liked the comb that helped to de-clump the lashes. This isn’t waterproof, but so far this hasn’t smudged under my eyes. Mascara formulas are always best on the first day, though, so I’ll keep using this and see if it continues being good. So far I feel pretty good about it for a five dollar mascara.

All in all, my Milani experience was really good! I’ll definitely keep buying from them. Here’s a full look using all three products (as well as my Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse in Medium Brown ($28) that I reviewed a while ago and Too Faced Natural Eye Neutral Eye Shadow Collection ($36)).

milani cosmetics review milani cosmetics product reviews

Leave a Reply

