CoverGirl intensify me eyeliner and super sizer mascara review

CoverGirl sent me their latest mascara and liquid eyeliner to review, and of course I was into it given my love of cat eye looks. I live and die by eyeliner and mascara.

covergirl intensify me eyeliner and super sizer mascara

It might be hard to tell from these pictures, but that mascara tube is massive.

Both of these products have unique applicators, so they’re more than meets the eye. The eyeliner is a felt tip with a flat paddle shape, almost like a duck bill, and it’s supposed to transition easily from thin to thick lines. and the Mascara has a number of very short bristle that sort of flare out at the edges.


Let’s discuss the Intensify Me! Eyeliner ($8.99) first.

The paddle shape did work for me, but I had a bit of trouble getting really sharp, precise lines with the rounded tip. I would have much preferred a pointed tip. The formula was good, though. It felt just like using a sharpie marker and it had a nice, intense black color that went on very smoothly. I found that I had to work quickly because when I took too long on one area a lot of product came out and the line ended up a bit thicker (and more uneven) than I was expecting. I worked more quickly on the second eye and had no problems. It had an ergodynamic indented rubber finger grippy part on the barrel that I got oddly excited about and it also lasted all day without smudging.

covergirl intensify me eyeliner swatchescovergirl intensify me liner paddle tip covergirl intensify me eyeliner  covergirl intensify me liquid eyeliner and super sizer mascara review


Next we have CoverGirl’s Super Sizer Mascara ($7.49).

The idea here is that you swipe this into the roots of your lashes, then twirl the wand up the length of the lashes to distribute the product. I like the idea, although I did have a tough time getting it to distribute evenly and had some clumps to deal with, especially at the roots. At least clumps at the roots aren’t as bad as clumps at the ends. I did manage to get them mostly clear and ended up with nicely defined lashes.

covergirl super sizer mascara covergirl super sizer mascara wand

Results!
Before on the right, after on the left:
covergirl super sizer mascara before and after

I don’t know if it’s a 400% volume increase like the package says, but I think my lashes look sufficiently dramatic. What really impressed me was the way this did not smudge on me at all for the whole day. That’s all I really care about in a mascara at this point since most formulas give me raccoon eyes. Yay, CoverGirl! Smudge free for under $8.


I also have a pretty major beauty crush on their campaign star, Katy Perry, so I decided to base my look on the one she wears in the ad.
katy perry covergirl ad (2)
covergirl intensify me liner look
I felt really silly holding my face in this slack jawed pose, but whatever. Authenticity.

I see now that I went way too light on the crease color for my eyes, but who cares. That dual-toned teal and black eyeliner is the star of the show and we all know it.

green liquid eyeliner emerald green eyeliner teal and black liquid liner black and green eyeliner
Yes? Yes. I love it. Next I need to get my hair that color and we’ll be in business.

5 thoughts on “CoverGirl intensify me eyeliner and super sizer mascara review

  1. You are stunning! I wish I could get my eyeliner as perfect as you do! You completely sold me on that mascara.. I always get little black semicircles of smudges whenever I wear mascara, now I’m going to have to try that one!

    • Thank you so much! The black smudges are so annoying, I get so paranoid about them when I wear a new mascara that I don’t trust yet. I’ve been wearing this mascara a lot since I got it and it’s been working well. I hope it works for you, too!

    • I used NYX retractable eyeliner in gypsy blue (a really nice blue green) as a base and layered Nicka K New York Shimmer Eyeliner over it. I actually wouldn’t recommend the Nicka K liner though, because the applicator is really scratchy. NYX makes a liquid glitter eyeliner that works much better.

  2. Love your skin! its literally flawless! Is it gifted to you or you follow a regime for it, ’cause I would really like to follow it. Also, I would like to know what lipstick are you wearing in this particular Katty Perry look?

Leave a Reply

