April Ipsy and Birchbox reviews

I thought I would do one of these rundowns again after my overly long hiatus. In case you were wondering, I definitely did get some good stuff over the last few months, so that’s not why I was slacking. I just got these this week, so I’m not that late for once. 😉

First of all, can we take a moment to just appreciate how far both of these companies have come in terms of packaging? Soooo cute, especially the Rifle Paper box!
SAM_6596 (2) SAM_6599

You come a long way, ladies.

Ok, review time! Let’s talk about ipsy first. This month had a bohemian theme.
april 2015 ipsy
First is Gállány Cosmetics Lipstick in Petal ($21.50). This lipstick was a pretty color, although I have a few dupes of this shade. It was kind of average. Nothing super special about it, but not a bad product. Not worth $21.50.
gallany lipstick in petalgallany Petal lipstick swatch

Next was Mullein & Sparrow Mini Lip & Cheek Tint ($22).
I was excited about this, but it had almost no color at all on my lips, and my lips are pretty pale. I could detect the tiniest hint of color and that was it. Other than that, it had a nice slick but not sticky feel and was very glossy.

Mullein & Sparrow Mini Lip & Cheek TintMullein & Sparrow Mini Lip and Cheek Tint swatched

theBalm Cosmetics NUDE Dude Eyeshadow Single in Fit ($36 for the full palette).
A sequel to my Nude ‘Tude palette! I really liked the first one, and this edition seems comparable. The shades seem reeeeally similar to the original palette, just warmer. The first palette was good that naturally this extremely similar one is also going to be a good nude palette option. Pretty much everything theBalm makes is a winner. They are one of my favorite sleeper brands that doesn’t get the love they deserve.

the Balm nude dude eyeshadow single
(it’s the bronzey shade in my crease below)
the balm nude dude fit eyeshadow

MicaBeauty Eye Primer ($44.99)
This is a good primer. It’s a large pot, with a very solid feeling formula that would last a long time. It looks good on my skintone and while that means it would be pretty light on darker skin, that can make bold colors stand out really well so it isn’t a bad thing. However, this primer is not worth $45. This was great as a sample, but there’s no way they can be serious with that price.
mica beauty eye primer
L-R, a swatch of the Nude Dude single, then a swatch of the primer, then both.
nude dude fit eyeshadow swatched over primer

JulieG Nail Color in Damsel ($3.99)
Hot pink! This swatch is only one (admittedly thick) coat, and it’s super smooth and opaque! Not a color I would normally wear, but the polish quality is good. It was worth sampling for sure.
Julie  G hot pink nail polish JulieG JulieG Nail Color in damsel swatch


And now onto Birchbox:

april 2015 birchbox review

jane iredale Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain in Forever Pink – $25
I like it well enough. It’sone of those “magic” products that goes on clear and adjusts to the right shade for your lips/cheeks. It was very natural looking although it felt slightly waxy on my cheeks. Still looked good, though. You can also see it on my cheeks in the final full face picture at the end of this post.
SAM_6631 (2)

 
Number 4â„¢ Hydrating Shampoo – $34
This stuff is way expensive, but it smells and feels nice. Not in my budget.
Temple Spa Peace Be Still Calming Face & Body Balm – $29
A good, non-greasy moisturizer. Again, a bit pricier than anything I’d buy. I save my splurges for eyeshadow.

Harvey Prince Yogini – $55
I don’t love fragrance samples as I’ve said time and time again with my birchboxes. I also don’t love Harvey Prince fragrances. However, I actually liked this one! I probably wouldn’t buy it, but it was nice. Probably because this one has notes of grapefruit and I’m a big citrus fan.

Supergoop!® Daily Correct CC Cream ​SPF 35+ in light to medium – $32
I’m already a fan of the Supergoop line (you know I am OBSESSED with SPF and that’s kind of their thing) so I was excited to try this. It felt good, covered well and it had a natural finish that made my skin look so smooth. Unfortunately, this was a shade too dark and made me look like I had a spray tan. Fortunately, they make a lighter shade, so I’m interested in buying that once I use up my 5,000 other foundations and BB creams.

SAM_6635 (2) SAM_6639 (2) SAM_6649 (2)

5 thoughts on “April Ipsy and Birchbox reviews

  1. I always enjoy your reviews. 🙂

    I’m a little bummed I cancelled my Birchbox right before this one, missing out on the cute packaging, but I guess it is just a box. Plus I have more samples stocked up than time to try everything for review and actually make use of Birchbox’s point system.

    I have also really liked the Supergoop CC cream when I’ve gotten the sample in the past. I’m finally nearing the last of tiny sample BB creams too, and I’ve been meaning to buy the fair shade to try, which might be the one for you too if light/medium is too dark. I know I’m not as fair-skinned as you 🙂 but even the light/medium is not a *perfect* match for me.

    • I’m so glad you like these, it’s cool that we can sort of keep in touch via makeup blogs. ^_^ I’m kind of considering leaving Birchbox, too, but I dunno. The boxes are so cute, but I have so many! And don’t get me started on how many random samples are just floating around my bathroom. ;_;

  2. Oh, and I love the ipsy bag. Even when not all the samples are amazing, the bags plus one or two pretty good samples make me feel like it’s worth it each month. I got the Mica eye primer and theBalm Fit samples too and totally agree with you on them. Plus I’m a sucker for packaging and theBalm is fabulous at it. The sample is like a teeny book and the cover is decently secure with the magnet!

    • Yeah, even if I do end up leaving Birchbox, I don’t think I could ever leave ipsy because it’s just such a good deal. I don’t know how they do it, the value is always so good for only $10!

      • I will cry if it turns out their bags and samples are super-outsourced and made by the hands of impoverished, starving children. After watching that John Oliver/Last Week Tonight episode, I shouldn’t be surprised. But I would be very sad.

Leave a Reply

