September Ipsy v Birchbox Product Samples Review

Augh, I have so many review to do for you guys! A lot of things showed up on my doorstep in the last week, so I’m going to try to power through them all. Now that I’m caught up on Memebox, let’s talk about September’s Birchbox and Ipsy!

I know I didn’t review these for the last few months. I wanted to, but this summer was IN-TENSE, and you’d be surprised how much time I spend taking and editing pictures and putting these reviews together. I’m sorry, hopefully I’ll get back on a better schedule soon. I also didn’t get a chance to try everything before I had to go out of town, but I thought it best to go ahead and post before I get super behind again.

Ok, so this month’s Ipsy feautured:

september 2014 ipsy glam bag review

Hikari Lipstick in Cabernet ($13).

Hikari Lipstick in CabernetHikari Lipstick in Cabernet swatch on lips

I have never heard of this brand before, but this Hikari lipstick really exceeded my expectations. Weirdly, this “Cabernet” color doesn’t look at all like the shade pictured on the website and actually looks like the color “Crush,” but no matter. The packaging looks cute, but it unfortunately feels cheap in your hands. The swatch on my arm also took a few swipes to build and the lipstick dragged a bit when I was applying it.

BUT.

I love it on! The color feels balmy and smooth (if slightly waxy) and it wore down very evenly to a beautiful, lightweight stain. This was very comfortable on and longlasting. I’m not sure if I would want to pay $13 for it, but It’s definitely a good deal if you use this month’s code below.

30% off your entire purchase at hikaricosmetics.com with code IPSY30 through 10/31/14.


 

Pacifica Natural Water-Proof Eye Pencil in Fringe ($11).
I was also pleasantly surprised by this Pacifica liner considering I hated the last Pacifica cosmetic I received. This line was smooth to apply and very pigmented. It isn’t waterproof, but from what I’ve seen so far it seems pretty long lasting.

20% off your entire purchase at www.pacificabeauty.com with code FallBeauty through 10/31/14.

Here’s a swatch of the liner next to the Hikari Lipstick swatch (which sadly looks less pigmented here than IRL due to my current lack of photo editing software).

pacifica waterproof eyeliner Hikari Lipstick in Cabernet swatches


 

This was a decent size and I got a couple uses out of it. It smelled nice and definitely helped my bleached out strands to feel a bit softer.
The deal on this one isn’t great (free shipping with code IPSYSEPT14), so I’d recommend buying this at Sephora where you’ll get freebies with your purchase.

This was soft and will be great for travel (which I do more than I should!). However, the Crown Brush website doesn’t list anything about synthetic fibers or being cruelty free, so I’m kind of conflicted about using this.
30% off any purchase at www.crownbrush.us with code CROWNIPSY30 through 12/31/14.

I love that this is natural and that it saves a few steps in my morning routine.
15% off at www.leeanni.com with code IPSY9 through 10/31/14.


and on to Birchbox.
september 2014 birchbox review
I got an extra sample this month! This time they included 6 samples. One was a teeny perfume sample, so I’m glad to have gotten a little bit more (perfume vials always feel like a cop-out).
This is the perfume I mentioned, although if I’m going to drop more than $100 on a fragrance, I definitely want to smell it first. This was really nice. Not the sweet scent I was expecting, this is a more nuanced and sexy scent. They also included a postcard, which was neat.

TOCCA Crema da Mano Luxe – Hand Cream ($20.00). As creamy and moisturizing as you’d expect from TOCCA. It feels luxe and smells very nice.

I didn’t get to try this since Birchbox showed up right before I left town, but the packaging is fancy, so my expectations are high.

Same as above, this one didn’t get sampled. I’m really nervous that it will be too dark for my skin, but I’ll try to update this post after I’ve had a chance to try it.
This is about half the size of the full bottle, so I’m really pleased with how large the sample is. Another I couldn’t try, but from what I’ve read it works really well and a little goes a long way, so this should last me a long time.
I really love the standard Hydration lock, so this double-ended version with spf is even better! I’m happy.
Leave a Reply

