Four Product Challenge!

How often do you rush out the door with wet hair, no makeup and whatever cosmetics are rolling around in the bottom of the purse you just switched over to? If you answered “Not EVERY day,” then you are a more competent person than I am, and this post probably won’t apply to you. Since I have turned hot-messery into a sort of art form, the rest of you still interested may get something out of my MacGuyver-esque makeup skills. What I lack in time management skills I make up for in resourcefulness.

Today I was running late on my way to school and ended up doing a full face of makeup using four products:

NYX Love in Paris Eye Shadow Palette in Je Ne Sais Quoi ($9.99).
Clinique Lash Power Mascara Long-Wearing Formula Black Onyx ($16).
Sonia Kashuk® Hidden Agenda Concealer Palette – Light 07 ($10.99).
Wet n’ Wild Fergie Creme Lipstick in Bebot Love ($3.19).

IMG_20140828_141248

Technically two of those products are multi-shade palettes, but that’s because I pack my bags strategically. I still think it counts.

**WARNING** Bad picture quality ahead, I was stranded away from home/my camera. Sorry.


 

There was no liner in my bag, so I made extra sure to get my mascara deep into the roots and I also concentrated my smoky-greige eyeshadow along the lashline.

IMG_20140828_141438IMG_20140828_141442IMG_20140828_141439

Now for the trickery:

I patted the olive shade of my concealer palette all over to neutralize the redness in my face, then I used the light and dark shades of concealer to highlight and contour my cheekbones and jawline.

I swiped the lightest shimmery shadow from my eyeshadow palette as additional highlight on my forehead, cheekbones and cupid’s bow.

I used my nude Wet n Wild lipstick (incidentally, an incredibly good lipstick that also happens to be $3.19) as a blush.

I used the matte brown eyeshadow as a brow powder (applied with the sponge applicator and everything!).

IMG_20140828_141511IMG_20140828_145700

Sorry again for the uncropped, unretouched cell phone selfies, but hopefully you get the idea. I’m posting out-of-pocket today. The photo quality represents this post’s commitment to making do with what’s on hand, yes?

Leave a Reply

