May 2014 Ipsy and Birchbox Reviews

I know, I’m late. I also don’t have as much to say about this crop. Sorry. :/

So Ipsy is up first:
ipsy may 2014 products

Eva NYC Therapy Session Hair Mask ($12-$40).
This stuff is legit. It made my hair feel so great, but didn’t weigh it down. I’d buy it again.
65% off at http://eva-nyc.com/ with code IPSY through 6/15/14.

Pacifica Mineral Eyeshadow Duo ($14 for 4).
Aw man, I wanted to like this. Unfortunately, there wasn’t much to like. This shadow duo is oddly matched, the shadow is hard and it isn’t very pigmented at all. Pass.
25% off (can be used on other items) at http://www.pacificaperfume.com with code IPSYBEAUTY through 6/30/14.
pacifica eyeshadow duo natural beauty pacifica eyeshadow swatches

derma e Microdermabrasion Scrub ($32.50).
This stuff was harsh! It didn’t make my skin any smoother than any other scrub I’ve used, either. All pain, moderate gain.
30% off at http://dermae.com/ipsy with code IPSY0514 through 7/31/14.

Olive Natural Beauty The Olive Lip Balm ($5.95).
I did like this. It’s very comfortable and moisturizing with an interesting scent.
20% off + a free gift at http://www.olivenaturalbeauty.com/ with code OLIVEIPSY through 7/15/14.

Hang Ten Classic Sport SPF50 ($12.99).
I love my sunscreen, but this was a little greasy.
25% off at https://hangtensunscreen.com with code IPSY2014 through 6/30/14.


 

Next up, Birchbox:
birchbox may 2014 products

COOLA Environmental Repair Plus® Radical Recovery™ After-Sun Lotion ($32).
This was timely. I was at the park too long today and ended up with a mild burn on my arms. This really worked to soothe and moisturize the burn! I really loved this product, it would be really great for summer travel.

PIXI Beauty Shea Butter Lip Balm ($8).
This was nice. Cute packaging, nice and moisturizing and a perfect summer coral color. This is a lot like Fresh’s Sugar balms, but without the spf (and for a lot less money).
PIXI Beauty Shea Butter Lip Balm coral crushPIXI Beauty Shea Butter Lip Balm coral crush swatch

Caudalie Polyphenol C15 Overnight Detox Oil ($52).
Oooo, so luxurious! This sample was tiny, but it did feel really good. It melted into my skin and I woke up with a soft, smooth complexion.

SmartyPants All-in-One Gummy Vitamins for Adults ($40.64).
These were really good, but tart like citrus. That’s a plus for me, but maybe not for everyone. I’m all for gummy vitamins so I might end up picking up a full bottle.

Smashbox Cosmetics Photo Finish Foundation Primer ($36).
This is the old standby and it’s as good as it ever was. I can always use a travel tube.

 

So there you have it! Not a very makeup heavy month, but still some useful stuff, and Birchbox ended up beating ipsy for once.

One thought on “May 2014 Ipsy and Birchbox Reviews

  1. Pingback: September Ipsy v Birchbox Product Samples Review | Lexi's Look of the Day

Leave a Reply

