May Golden Tote Review

It’s been a busy month of finals, roadtrips and work, but I am determined to get my May Golden Tote review out before May ends! It’s the last day of May, but who’s counting? If you need an overview of Golden Tote in general, check my first review here.

So this time around I opted for a $49 tote. The shipping was actually very quick, the general consensus online is that the $49 totes ship right away but the $149 totes take forever to ship. I picked the Under Skies navy eyelet trim button down as my main item, and I really love it!
under skies navy eyelet button down shirt

The picture on GT’s site didn’t do all of the detail justice. It has mother of pearl type buttons, an eyelet detail along the top part of the shirt, a jersey fabric as the main body, and is finished with a textured cotton detail stitched on the placket, pocket and a few other places.
under skies navy eyelet button down close up detailunder skies navy eyelet button down back
I really loved the mixed materials here, and it’s also one of the few GT tops that’s fitted instead of loose. Golden Tote does tend to cater toward a non-curvy build, and even though my curves are smaller than they used to be, I still think I look better in a nipped waist rather than the loose, drapey styles that tend to look best on really willowy girls.


 

I only got one surprise item, and it’s this lovely cobalt collarless crepe shirtdress by Naked Zebra. It’s high quality, lined, comfortable and super flattering BUT it’s also super short. I have this problem a lot with Golden Tote’s dresses. They’re great, but they are SO short on me.
naked zebra cobalt blue crepe cinched waist shirt dress naked zebra bright blue shirt dress back golden tote naked zebra cobalt blue shirt dress side

I love this dress so much, and I would love it even more if it were 2-3 inches longer. As is, it still works over leggings (with bare legs or tights I feel exposed, but leggings make it seem less scandalous. I wore it to Memorial Day brunch last weekend with leggings (not pictured) and felt awesome:
naked zebra royal blue crepe cinched waist shirt dress


Ok, so that’s all for the tote, but I have more to review.

I got Naked Zebra’s multi-strap detail tank in lavender as an add-on item. It’s a little bit sheer (what up, black bra!), but I really like the strap detail, especially in the back. I think Golden Tote’s signature drapey, boxy style works well with this top.
naked zebra strappy tank top lavendar naked zebra strappy tank top lavender and navynaked zebra strappy tank top lavender and navy straps

I also like that the straps are made from a crepe material rather than jersey, so they won’t stretch out.golden tote naked zebra strappy tank top lavender navy straps


I also have a few follow up items. After last month’s craziness with my missing April item, GT sent me this to make up for the missing piece. It’s the embroidered white top by In Clover. It’s sort of a weird length on me and I’m still tring to decide how to style it, but I’m thinking it’ll look great over a maxi skirt. I haven’t worn it yet other than to try on, so I’m keeping it in the bag for a while. I’m either going to trade it or wear it, we’ll see which happens first.

in clover white embroidered top  in clover white embroidered peasant top side in clover white embroidered peasant topin clover white embroidered peasant top shoulder crochet detail


I also have a couple of items that I traded through the Golden Tote Trading Group on facebook. These are from past bags, but it still gives you an idea of the types of styles Golden Tote has carried.

Collective Concepts mixed material peplum top. I love the prints on this! I don’t wear a lot of peplums, so I’m still trying to figure out how to style it.
collective conepts mixed media tribal print peplum top  collective conepts mixed media print peplum top side view collective conepts mixed media peplum top blue and green print
There’s a zipper that goes the full length of the back.
collective conepts mixed media print peplum top zipped back


Puella striped long sleeve fit and flare dress. The fit on this one is a little off for me and makes me look a little thicker than I am, but somehow it doesn’t bother me. In my mind it has a sort of modern-meets-vintage appeal and it has a ton of styling options. I wore it to a dinner party a few weeks ago and was complimented on it right away.
puella long sleeve striped fit and flare dresspuella navy gray long sleeve striped fit and flare dress  puella long sleeve striped fit and flare dress navy heather grey fabric

And that’s it for all of my Golden Tote pieces. The June tote boutique opens this Monday, June 2, at 9:00 PST. The new items are already in the regular boutique for you to check out in advance, but the tote won’t switch over until Monday. Are you going to get a tote this month?

Leave a Reply

