Tarte Brow Pomade Review

My hair is dyed almost black these days, so darkening my eyebrows has been more important to me than ever. My brow powder just hasn’t been doing it for me lately, so I decided to branch out into brow pomade. I tested a few varieties out at Sephora, and while Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade ($18) has a phenomenal texture and shade range, the double ended eyebrow brush #12 wasn’t included and would set me back another $18. This kind of product really works best with that specific type of brush, so the Anastasia brow mousse would have run me $36 once I included the brush. Tarte’s formula worked just as well for me and included a brush, but costs $8 less than that.

So based on that, I ended up buying Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse in Medium Brown ($28). I thought the Rich Brown shade would be the best match for my hair color, but these shades run really dark, and Medium Brown was actually quite dark and looked the most natural. Any darker would look kind of harsh, and I think this will continue to work even if I lighten my hair again.

Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse in Medium Brown with double ended spoolie brush Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse Dark Brown with double ended brush

The shade selection is pretty minimal. There are only three shades and each one is darker than you’d expect. As a result, there are only options for a light/medium brown, dark brown and black. If you have light blonde or red hair you’re out of luck. If your hair is some kind of brown, then this is a great buy!

The product is pretty hard, so you won’t pick up too much with the brush, making this pretty foolproof. Even though it looked like my brush looked like it barely had any product on it after a few swipes into the pot, the line was surprisingly sharp and very pigmented. This was easy to use, super precise and the spoolie end of the brush helped me to soften the look up as needed. It also lasted really well, although I did touch it up slightly after 8 hours. I would have looked fine without a touch up, but I wanted to make sure my brows were super intense for night.

Here’s a quick look at my daytime brow:

Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse in Medium Brown swatch

Comparison of Brow pomade on left and without brow makeup on the right:

Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse in Medium Brown review

 

And here it is with a finished look. Yes, I’m wearing one of my Golden Tote dresses. I’m also wearing the same makeup from my Boudoir Eyes tutorial.

Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse in Medium Brown with neutral makeup

 

2 thoughts on “Tarte Brow Pomade Review

  1. I bought the Anastasia Dip Brow Pomade and I love it, I haven’t been able to use anything else or leave the house without “putting on” my brows. I know what you mean about the brush though, I chose not to purchase it because I had a few smaller angled brushes that could substitute for it. I ended up using the tiny eye shadow/liner brush that was included in TheBalm’s Nude’Tude palette, which is funny because usually kit brushes suck, right? Not the case with this one, it works perfect to draw & fill in brows! Tarte’s brow pomade looks surprisingly similar though! You scored a good deal!

  2. Pingback: Milani Cosmetics Review | Lexi's Look of the Day

Leave a Reply

