January 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag and Birchbox reviews

This was an interesting month. Both my Ipsy and Birchbox were pretty good, but I think I may actually like BB better this time around! Both included some hits and misses, but I think I got my money’s worth from each. Here’s what happened:

Ipsy

january 2014 ipsy glam bag

The zipper on my bag this month was totally destroyed! What’s up with that? ūüė•

Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow $14.99 in Pearl

Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow in Pearl swatch

This was very pigmented liner (not shadow, I have no idea why they labeled it that way) and will make a great highlight color to brighten eyes.¬†Perfect for inner corners and lower lashlines.¬†It didn’t photograph as dense as it really is, but I was definitely impressed. It lasted forever, too! So far I’ve gotten this liner and a mascara from Elizabeth Mott and have been hugely impressed with both.
Free black eyeliner at www.elizabethmott.com with code ipsysmooth through 3/1/14.

Apothederm¬ģ¬†Bright Skin Serum ($67.50)
This went on well at first and absorbed quickly, but it left some residue that felt filmy on my skin. I think it may have helped with brightness, though? Hard to tell after only a few uses.
30% off plus a purse mirror at www.apothederm.com with code ipsy30 through 2/28/14.

MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm ($30) in Natural

MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm in Natural swatch

Nice color, more pigment than expected but it doesn’t feel creamy at all. It has a very thin, stain-like feel which was a little confusing in a balm product. I think it would also work as a cream blush, although it may not be blendable enough. Normally it comes packaged with a brush, which is nice (although my sample didn’t have that).¬†I’ve gotten basically this exact same product from Cailyn in red, which makes me think their products are made by the same people.
45% off at www.micabeauty.com with code ipsy45 through 2/28/14.

Absolute! Makeup Cleansing Tissue ($2.50-$$7.99)
These are always useful! I don’t know what else to say.
30% off *any purchase* at www.nicka.com (who have their own cosmetics + nail polishes and not just cleansing cloths) with code ipsy through 2/10/14.

Sexy Hair Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Tri-Wheat Leave In Conditioner ($17.95)
I keep forgetting to use this, but I love the idea of spray in conditioner.
$5 off $25 Sexy Hair purchase at ulta.com with code 108723 through 2/15/14.

 

 

Birchbox

january 2014 birchbox

Burt‚Äôs Bees¬ģ Intense Hydration Day Lotion¬†($17.99).
This felt great and absorbed quickly and cleanly. Go Burt! The box also included a coupon for $3 off a Burt’s product.

Serge Normant Meta Revive Dry Conditioner ($25).
I haven’t tried this yet, but I love the idea. I’m already a dry shampoo fan since I am a lazy person, so this just takes my last minute morning prep to the next level.

Harvey Prince Journey ($55).
It’s nice, but a little powdery for my tastes. Perfume is so individual, I don’t know why they even bother with fragrance samples.

INIKA Mineral Eyeshadow ($20) in Eternal Marine.

INIKA Mineral Eyeshadow Eternal Marine swatch

This ended up looking a little more gray than I expected, but I’m ok with that. Really pretty color that works equally well as an intense pigment or a sheer wash. Plus, INIKA is known for being vegan and cruelty-free, so I really like that!

Nail Rock Nail Velvet ($7) in Velvet Navy.

rock beauty london nail rock velvet navy

Nail art is kind of old news at this point, so this felt a little gimmicky to me (I would have been way more excited about this a year ago). While it would be too much to wear this on every nail, I ended up kind of liking the effect as an accent nail. Unfortunately, it was pretty hard to get the velvet flocking even, so my accent nail is a bit patchy. I think a wider mouth container on the velvet jar would have made it easier to properly roll my nail in the fuzzy stuff.

Leave a Reply

