Battle of the Drugstore Lip Butters

In order to get free shipping on my latest order, I had to fill up my cart with a few more products. The extreme Chicago winter winds have really been destroying my skin lately, so I decided to stock up on some budget-priced buttery nude lippies and see who hydrated best.

1. NYX Butter Lipstick ($5.99) in Snow Cap.

This one was the most moisturizing of all four lip butters, but the coverage was kind of uneven. It really settled into the lines on my lips, so I was kind of disappointed there. That’s also a common issue for nude lipsticks (which I am slowly becoming obsessed with), so a darker color might have better application. It did feel really great on my lips, so I’m willing to try this formula again in a different shade.

nyx butter lipstick snow capnyx butter lipstick snow cap swatch

2. NYX Butter Lip Balm ($3.99) in Brownie.

This was sheerer than I expected, but it felt comfortable and nicely balmy. It has a bit more of a creamy feel than some balms instead of being more slippery. This shade would probably be invisible on most skintones if it barely shows up on someone as pale as me, so anyone with medium-dark skin would probably be better off with one of the bolder shades.

nyx lip butter balm brownienyx lip butter balm brownie swatch

3. Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter ($7.00) in Red Velvet.

This is actually my second Red Velvet Lip Butter. I loved it the first time around but it went missing, so I liked it enough to try again. This is the most opaque of all of the balms. It’s more of a sheer lipstick than a balm, but it actually has more impressive, even pigment than you would think. While it is the most opaque of the four lip butters, it is also the least emollient. It doesn’t feel as much like a chapstick, but it’s still more moisturizing than a typical lipstick. This is a good in-between mix of pigment and hydration. It applies like a much more expensive lipstick, even though it doesn’t feel quite as smooth as say, a Lipstick Queen Saint Lipstick ($22). It is also about $14 cheaper than Lipstick Queen, so it’s a good option if you’re budget conscious.

revlon color burst lip butter red velvetrevlon color burst lip butter red velvet swatch

4. Revlon ColorBurst Lacquer Balm ($8.99) in Ingenue.

While not labelled as a “butter,” it’s still marketed as a balm, so it made the list. This turned out sheerer and less glittery than I expected, but I really liked the sheer color. While not particularly creamy, it did feel smoother than a typical matte lip-stain-balm-stick thing. I like this a lot because it gives me the look of a gloss without the stickiness. Yay!

revlon color burst laquer balm ingenuerevlon color burst laquer balm ingenue swatch

L-R Swatches:

Revlon ColorBurst Lacquer Balm in Ingenue, NYX Butter Lip Balm in Brownie, NYX Butter Lipstick in Snow Cap and Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Red Velvet.
nyx and revlon lip butter balm review swatches

Leave a Reply

