December Ipsy vs Birchbox Review

Sorry, I know, I’m the worst. I haven’t posted these and I’m sorry. What’s worse, I’ve been traveling and haven’t even fully tested all of this stuff! But better late than never, so here’s a brief review of the products I got in my boxes almost a month ago!

Ipsy:

december 2013 ipsy glam bag products

POP Beauty Bright Up Your Life Eye Shadow Trio in Smokin Hot ($24 for a 10-pan palette). This is a sampler from a larger palette. I have mixed feelings about the shades I got: the two lighter shades work well (the gunmetal is particularly nice), but the black was cheap, chalky and under-pigmented. Not sure how the rest of the full palette compares.  Ipsy deal code is for 25% off at www.popbeauty.com with code eyeluvpop through 1/15/14.

pop beauty bright up your life palette smokin hot trio swatch pop beauty bright up your life palette smokin hot trio swatches

Be a Bombshell The One Stick in Girl Crush ($16). This was nice, it’s basically like a skinnier version of NARS the multiple. The color is kind of unusual, it’s a pale, frosty pink. It makes a good blush on my light complexion, but I think it would make a really lovely highlight color on someone with medium to dark skin. Ipsy discount is 40% off and free blush at www.beabombshellcosmetics.com with code ipsy40 through 1/15/14.

Be a Bombshell The One Stick in Girl Crush

Ardell Natural Lash in 120 Demi ($3.99). These are pretty standard false lashes. I’ve used this brand before and like them. Ipsy didn’t provide a sale code for Ardell, sorry. 😦

NYX Extra Creamy Round Lipstick Celene ($3.99). You guys already know that I love this stuff! NYX round lipstick forever! This color is a little light for me, though, so it’s going into the giveaway bag (I promise that will be coming up soon, I had to delay my latest prize drawing due to out of town holiday craziness). Discount is 35% off the slim lip pencil at www.nyxcosmetics.com with code ipsyslim through 1/15/14.

Nicka K New York Nail Color in Classic Taupe ($4.99). This was a nice greige color. The first coat was a little streaky, but the second coat was smooth and fully opaque. Holy hell was this one glossy, and it lasted well. I was very impressed, I thought the formula was very similar to my OCC Nail Lacquer but at half the price. Get 30% off  at www.nicka.com with code IPSY through 1/10/14.

nicka k new york nail laquer classic taupe greige polish

Bonus offers for brands that weren’t in my bag:
J.Cat Beauty- 30% off any purchase at www.jcatbeauty.com with code jcatlips through 1/15/14.
Jesse’s Girl- 30% off any purchase at www.jessesgirlcosmetics.com with code ipsydec2013 through 1/15/14.
Starrily- 20% off at www.starrily.com with code ipsy (no listed exp. date).
Demeter Fragrances- 20% off any purchase at  www.demeterfragrance.com with discount code ipsy20dfl through 1/13/14.

Next up, Birchbox:

december 2013 birchbox products

TONI&GUY Casual Sea Salt Texturising Spray ($16.99). I haven’t used this yet, but I’m a big fan of salt spray. I spritz it on damp hair, scrunch and go for a more controlled version of my natural, frizzy waves.

Manna Kadar Cosmetics sheer glo shimmer lotion ($29). This was a nice, light luminizing liquid. It’s like a thicker version of Benefit’s High Beam.

Camille Beckman Glycerine Hand Therapy™ ($14). This was really hydrating and absorbed well!

Supersmile Ultimate Lip Treatment ($24). This product claims to “hydrate, exfoliate, and heal tired skin.” The idea of exfoliating and moisturize in one step seems odd, but it is somehow simultaneously smooth and every so slightly gritty (like impossibly finely milled liquid sand). It made my lips feel great, but it is also $24. I just can’t justify that price for what is essentially a luxurious chapstick.

Ahmad Teas ($7 for 40 bags). Yum! I love tea, and it was nice that they included 3 flavors to try.

I also want to throw in a quick fabkids shoutout. Look at how cute my December outfits were! $39.95 for one 3-piece outfit, $20 for the second and they’re so fun and well-made! I feel like the fabkids clothes have a lot of personality.

striped shirt plaid punk pants fabkids boy clothes
Ska-punk 90’s throwback!!!

yellow buffalo check plaid shirt goldenrod colored jeans fabkids boys outfits
Craft beer snob in training!

5 thoughts on “December Ipsy vs Birchbox Review

  1. Hey I love the review. I get glossybox and they have sent me a number of be a bombshell things, only problem is you cant get them in England!!!! What do you think of Birchbox, I have been considering it for a while now? 🙂

    • Thank you! I do like Birchbox, but it isn’t for everyone. They don’t include as many full sized items and they tend to focus on skincare and haircare more than a lot of the other subscription services (I often only get one or two color cosmetics in any box).

      The upside is that they do send a wide variety of product types, so you get to try many new things. They also include a lot of luxury brands that you might not have taken a chance on otherwise due to the price. It really depends on your preference. If you’re into skincare I would say to go for it, but if you only want makeup then I would pass.

  2. Pingback: January 2014 Ipsy Glam Bag and Birchbox reviews | Lexi's Look of the Day

  3. Pingback: April Ipsy Glam Bag and Birchbox Reviews | Lexi's Look of the Day

Leave a Reply

