Buxom Color Choreography Palette in Tango

I can’t stop. I held off on buying makeup for a few months, but my shopping addiction has returned with a vengeance as of late. I hope I can stop soon. I placed a few Black Friday orders, so mayyyyybe that will tide me over for the rest of winter? Fingers crossed.

Today’s review covers my new Buxom Color Choreography Eyeshadow Palette in Tango ($36). It isn’t a new product, but that’s ok. I get around to buying things when I get around to them.

Buxom Color Choreography Eyeshadow Palette in Tango

Here are the shades lightly swatched without primer (except for the red, which I layered to see how the color would build up):Buxom Color Choreography Eyeshadow Palette in Tango swatched fair pale skin

My feelings about the palette: Ironically, the burgundy shade that initially caught my eye most was the only disappointment. It’s sheerer than anticipated (I really had to layer it on for the swatch) and more of a reddish-brown than the bright oxblood/burgundy shade that I was expecting. It truer to pan shade when applied wet, so I’ll probably use it most frequently as a liner. While useable, it’s not the star of the show, so this shade’s value is really a matter of perception.

Beyond that, the gunmetal grey and the silvery-taupe are sooo creamy and dreamy and lovely. They’re pigmented and multi-dimensional with gold micro-glitter and they’re gorgeous and I would have bought the palette for them alone. There is slight fallout from the glitter, but nothing unreasonable. The matte grey-brown is an excellent color for definition and also very pigmented. The white highlighter is somewhat sheer (especially on my very fair skin), but I think that’s on purpose since a super pigmented matte white would be distracting and wouldn’t work well to highlight. While not the most exciting shade on the palette, I’m glad they included a matte highlight shade (I’ve mentioned before how important those are to me for both highlighting and blending edges).

I think it’s brilliant how versatile these four neutral shades are. Red shade notwithstanding, the palette features two light and two dark shades in both shimmery and matte finishes and they work well in any combination together. A kit that versatile is a great find.

Sample look using all five shades (the red color is both blended into crease as a halo and applied wet as a liner). I’m also wearing Nyx Powder Blush in Angel ($4.99),  Laura Mercier Stick Gloss in Courtisane ($22 individually or $48 for a set of four) and Juice Beauty Reflecting Gloss in Fig ($15) on top (one of the only glosses that I can stand!).

Buxom taupe grey brown smoky eye black cherry burgundy oxblood eyeliner linerBuxom Color Choreography Eyeshadow Tango smoky eye
grey taupe smoky eye laura mercier stick gloss courtisane juice beauty reflective lip gloss fig

Bottom line, this is a great everyday set with a good sized mirror and a small, but useable brush. The shades are neutral enough for work, but moody enough for a night out. However, if you were looking for something really dramatic with a bold pop of color, this is not the right palette.

Leave a Reply

