Sultry Parisian Smoky Plum Eyes

This is actually from last night, but that’s ok. I’ve been using my portable makeup kit a LOT lately (always on the go!) and wanted to share a sample look. After experimenting for a few weeks, I’ve updated the go bag with a few different products. I swapped the Revlon Quad for the more pigmented and better wearing  NYX Love in Paris Eye Shadow Palette in Je Ne Sais Quoi ($9.99) and switched out the Lipstick Queen Oxymoron Matte Gloss for a brighter blush (it’s been so chilly and I needed to warm my complexion up!). I used both of these new additions, plus the brow pencil, concealer and mascara from the original kit.

So here’s the look. I wish I had captured the original, work-appropriate look, but this is after I amped up the smokiness for nighttime. I’m also wearing  Laura Mercier Stick Gloss in Peony ($22 individually or $48 for a set of four), which has a subtle sheen and seems to change color depth in different lights. I really like the NYX palette because there’s a really good variety of dark and light colors in matte and shimmer textures. It’s compact and super versatile, I love it! There’s a closeup of the shades from the palette in my smoky cat eye post from last week. I know it’s just because the palette’s name is French, but using it always makes me feel very Parisian Chic. With that in mind, I layered the plum color over the brown shades for a look that makes me think of dimly lit foreign films.

Enough sparkle for bright light, enough depth for low light:

brown plum smoky eye nyx love in paris eyeshadow palette sheer laura mercier stickgloss peony brown plum smoky eye nyx love in paris Je Ne Sais Quoi sheer laura mercier stick gloss peony brown plum smoky eye nyx love in paris Je Ne Sais Quoi brown plum smoky eye nyx love in paris eye shadow palette Je Ne Sais Quoi

3 thoughts on “Sultry Parisian Smoky Plum Eyes

  1. Pingback: Mastering the Portable Makeup Kit | Lexi's Look of the Day

  2. This is really beautiful. I would love to try it; what did you do for the eyes? I have this palette but I’m not sure which colors you used where.

    • This was a while ago so I’m not sure if this is the exact combination, but I think I used the metallic brown all over the lid and up into the crease, then shaded the purple shade from the lashline up over the outer half of the lid. Then I usually would use the light pearly shadow in in the inner corner and along the browbone and finished by smoking a small amount of the black in the outer corner up into the crease as well as along the lower lashline.

      I hope that makes sense!

Leave a Reply

