Wet n’ Wild Color Icon Palettes- Comfort Zone and Blue Had Me at Hello

I’m late to this party, but whatever. I did some research about the Wet n’ Wild shadows based on my October Ipsy bag, and I was pretty intrigued by some of the rave reviews WnW shadows have gotten from beauty bloggers. I’ve never even considered these shadows before due to the price, but then again, I have found a few cheap gems over the years. Unfortunately, there were also a lot of reports that WnW’s quality has recently started to decline. In the interest of “science” (because I totally don’t have a makeup shopping problem, you guys) I decided to try a few of the older palettes and see if the formulation in those had changed or if they were as good as they used to be.

I went back and forth with a few sets. I’m pretty sure the Michigan Ave. Walgreens employees have me on a list at this point because this isn’t the first time I’ve spent ages pacing back and forth in the cosmetics aisle. Regardless, it really helped seeing something like this in person, because when a product is hit or miss, I’d rather see the finish in three dimensions.

I really wanted to try the new Camera Obscura and Silent Era Film Color Icon trios, but was wary of how new they are (the new ones are getting all the bad press, after all). The color pairings were a little atypical (I was REALLY into the combination of peach and navy on Camera Obscura), so it was hard to stay away.

wet and wild Camera Obscura Silent Film Era Color Icon trio eyeshadowsBye!

I ended up sticking with two of the older palettes that have gotten consistently good reviews. I got Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow in Comfort Zone 738 and Blue Had Me at Hello 737 (each $4.99). Strangely enough, these were priced a full dollar higher when I bought them in a physical Walgreen’s store, but whatever. It WAS a Walgreen’s on the Magnificent Mile, so I guess I paid for convenience. The $12 total still didn’t hurt my budget much.

So here’s Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow in “Blue Had Me at Hello” ($4.99).

Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow Blue Had Me at Hello

I don’t really wear a lot of blue shadow anymore (it can look a little too harsh on my pale skin), but lately I’ve been intrigued by it. Really bright and really dark colors can be iffy for drugstore makeup, so I had a few reservations about this one. STILL, some of these shades were SO pretty and it was only $5.99, so why not? The green-blue-teal color and the sparkly navy caught my eye the most, with the baby blue/aqua shade and cobalt coming in as a close second. I was skeptical about the white and both of the black shades, but again- it’s insanely inexpensive, so I can afford a few flops. The navy shade also looks like the same one from the Camera Obscura trio I was lusting after (at least it does in person if not through the crappy cell phone picture of the trios), so that helped me to decide.

Next up is the Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow “Comfort Zone” palette, which coincidentally is much more in my comfort zone.

Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow Comfort Zone palette

The gorgeous smoky colors and warm orange and brown tones, UGH. And don’t get me started on that duochrome burgundy-brown with teal shift! It looks a lot like an old pur minerals shadow I had called malachite, and also like a Kat Von D Shade Shifter eye shadow (On the Road) that costs three times as much as this entire 8 pan palette. People also say it’s a dupe for MAC’s “Club” eyeshadow.

Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow Comfort Zone palette 738kat von d shade shifter on the roadEh? Definite dupe potential.

So how did they perform? Here be swatches!

Blues and silvers:
Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow Blue Had Me at Hello swatches

The cool, navy blue sparkle? Yeah, it’s just black. There are 3 pretty much identical blacks on the blue palette, and none of them are anything spectacular (the cobalt blue ended up looking like what I thought the navy shade would be). Even so, the 5 lighter colors are pretty, so it was worth the money I spent.

Neutrals and greens:
Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow Comfort Zone palette swatch

And again in the sunlight so you can see the duochrome.Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow Comfort Zone palette 738 swatches

Comfort Zone only had one dud (that dark green from the right side of the palette which again, shows up as a weird black), but all of the others are very nice and super wearable.  Comfort Zone provided 7 pretty shades out of 8, so that’s still less than $1 per shade.

What I’ve learned so far from this and my Ipsy experience is that Wet ‘n’ Wild’s dark shadows are often terrible. All of the lighter colors I’ve tried are great, though!

At this point I’ve only done a full look with 4 of these 16. Here’s my face wearing all of the shades from the left side of the comfort zone palette. These stayed on ALL night with no primer, so I feel really good about their longevity. This has been a super good buy thus far. **EDIT: I’ve also posted a look featuring Blue Had Me at Hello HERE.

Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow Comfort Zone palette 738 review Wet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow Comfort Zone palette smoky eyeWet n Wild Color Icon Collection Eyeshadow Comfort Zone palette review 

I’m also wearing all four parts of Benefit Cosmetics “How To Look The Best At Everything” kit in light ($30) on my skin, Urban Decay’s Naked Flushed palette ($30) on cheeks, Nyx Glam Liner Aqua Luxe in Golden ($5.49-$3.29) along lashline,  Too Faced La Creme Color Drenched Lip Cream in Marshmallow Bunny ($21) on lips with Laura Mercier Lip Glace in Bare Naked layered over ($24 individually, or in a set of 4 minis for $38).

I also wore the silver and baby blue/aqua from Blue Had Me at Hello the other night and I was pleasantly surprised, but I neglected to take a picture. SORRY. I’ll keep playing with these and update you guys on my progress.

5 thoughts on “Wet n’ Wild Color Icon Palettes- Comfort Zone and Blue Had Me at Hello

  1. Wow, re: the Look pictures! You look great, polished but very natural. (Did you darken your hair? :)) That duochrome shadow looks awesome… I’m a bit envious too because I feel like I don’t have enough surface area around my lids to showcase a lot of color without looking like Mimi from the Drew Carey Show. 😛

    The brighter aqua shadow looks neat, though less pigmented as a swatch than in the palette. It reminds me of Deep End, which I started using when I got UD’s Ocho Loco eye pencil set and love it. They call it “peacock,” which sounds more refined than if I’d said bright teal. Nice to know I can give WnW a try for things other than their nail polish, so thanks for doing the dirty work of reviewing this for the makeup-obsessed public(/me).

  2. Thank you! The hair is pretty dark at this point, but I’m also wearing foundation, which definitely smoothes things out. I hate foundation, but maybe it’s time to start using it? Ugh, too many products, so little time.

    I agree that the teal wasn’t anywhere close to the pan shade, but I can still find a use for it. If I want a really insane bright color for cheap it looks like I’m still stuck with BH Cosmetics. I’m going to keep playing with these and will hopefully have some more looks up soon (if I can ever find the time). 🙂

  3. Pingback: Ice Blue and Brown Duochrome Smoky Eye | Lexi's Look of the Day

  4. Pingback: Navy is the New Neutral | Lexi's Look of the Day

  5. Pingback: Soft olive neutrals with the Wet n’ Wild Comfort Zone palette | Lexi's Look of the Day

Leave a Reply

