Mastering the Portable Makeup Kit

I’ve neglected my blog again! I feel especially bad that I’ve had pictures ready to go for my September Birchbox/Ipsy shakedown for the last two weeks and I haven’t even touched them. Hopefully I’ll get those up before the October sets arrive! I’ve been outrageously busy between school, travel and my (exciting!) new big-girl job. All of these factors have inspired today’s post.

Since I’m always pressed for time while rushing around town, I realized that I need a well-curated “go bag.” In other words, a makeup bag with everything I need to create a full look in the few minutes I have between class and work.

I realized that most of my makeup is either too bulky to fit in a makeup bag, or requires separate applicators (I want to keep it simple for now and wanted to avoid travel brush sets), or is too fragile/expensive to knock around in a purse. I decided to create a new kit. Here were my requirements:

1. Products that are very compact and easy to cram in a small bag.

2. A full look that lives exclusively in my bag (no shuffling products back and forth- that leads to missing something right when I need it most).

3. Products that are either very sturdy or cheap enough that I don’t mind if they break.

4. Products that multitask.

5. Products that either include an applicator or don’t need one.

6. Products that wear well (either they don’t fade or they fade evenly).

So here’s my first attempt, featuring more drugstore products than usual (with product pics for the recent purchases):

portable travel makeup kit maybelline color tattoo revlon colorstay eyeshadow quad

Lipstick Queen Oxymoron Matte Gloss in Honest Politician ($24). A nicely textured cream blush and lip stain and that can be applied with fingertips.

Clinique Lash Power Mascara Long-Wearing Formula Black Onyx ($16). Self-explanatory.

Maybelline Eye Studio Color Tattoo Metal Eyeshadow in Barely Branded ($6.99). It’s a great cream highlighter, eye brightening shadow and eyeshadow base in one!

Benefit Fakeup in Light 01 ($24). This is my new favorite concealer for my (really bad) dark circles. It doesn’t crease and it brightens my under-eye area. Love this stuff.

Maybelline Expert Wear Eyeshadow Single in linen ($3.99). This sparkle-free champagne shadow makes a perfect matte highlight and can also set the concealer. Matte skintone shadows are also great for blending the edges of your eyeshadow for a smooth look when your shadow edges aren’t quite perfect. A nude, matte shadow is one of my must haves.

Maybelline Expert Wear Eyeshadow Single in linen

Revlon ColorStay Eyeshadow Quad in 505 Decadent ($7.99). It was surprisingly hard to get everything I wanted out of a multi-color eyeshadow set. I agonized over this, but eventually picked an eyeshadow quad with neutral colors that I know always flatter my skin and eyes. I kind of wish the two lightest shades weren’t so close in color, but the light pink shimmer color can double as a highlighter, so I should get some use out of both. The dark brown should also build nicely depending on how much intensity I want, giving this kit some versatility.

Revlon ColorStay Eyeshadow Quad in 505 Decadent

Maybelline Eye Studio Master Drama Cream Eyeliner in Bold Brown ($7.99). The dark brown will add definition, but  won’t look quite as harsh and in-your-face as my standard black liner (making it better for work) and since it’s an automatic liner it doesn’t need sharpening. I can also apply it lightly to brows for long-lasting definition.

maybelline master drama by eye studio eyeliner bold brown

Revlon Color Burst Lip Butter in Red Velvet ($7.49). Y’all. There’s a reason you hear a lot about this one from bloggers. This is so pretty and versatile and it fades beautifully. It’s got the perfect blend of sheerness and opacity and is just diffused enough to go on imprecisely and still look good (excellent for super quick touchups). I’m kind of obsessed with it right now.

Revlon Color Burst Lip Butter in Red Velvet sheer red lipstick lip balm

I’ll do my best to get swatches of these products in action soon. I’ll also probably switch out some products and keep refining the bag further as I see what works and what I’m missing while I’m out.

UPDATE HERE: A few product switches and an example look!

One thought on “Mastering the Portable Makeup Kit

  1. Pingback: Sultry Parisian Smoky Plum Eyes | Lexi's Look of the Day

Leave a Reply

