Neutral Smoky Eyes with Red Lips

It was a lazy Sunday and I felt like pulling my hair up into a rockabilly rat’s nest because IDGAF. I’ve been dabbling in some sort of weird, modified retro revival thing lately. I think it’s because I have gotten (pleasantly) plumper through the years and vintage-y style celebrates my curves. It’s my way of self-acceptance now that I’m through beating myself up for being unable to rock the tiny clubwear of my youth.

But anyway, makeup.

rockabilly retro red lips lipstick yellow headscarf messy updo

My BH Cosmetics 120 Color Pro Palette was way past its expiration date and probably kind of funky, so I tossed it and ordered a new one. After agonizing (no really) over which version to get this time around, I finally settled on the 120 Color Eyeshadow Palette 2nd Edition ($16.95-$29.95). The second edition has a fantastic mix of brights and neutrals in a variety of shimmer, metallic and matte finishes. Look at how pretty!

bh cosmetics 120 color eyeshadow pro palette second edition bh cosmetics 120 color eyeshadow pro palette 2nd edition

As you can see, one blue shade did crack in shipment, but I can deal. It’s a good excuse to try one of the many tutorials on fixing cracked eyeshadows! Beside all that, I am kicking myself a little, because BH just rolled out its new (frickin’ amazing) Take Me to Brazil Eyeshadow Palette ($9.95-$19.95) that I wish I had also ordered. If only I had known to wait a week, but the 2nd edition palette IS pretty phenomenal, so whatever.

I blended a few metallic shadows on the ball of the eye, swept some dark brown into the crease and below the lashline, then blended just a touch of bright plum shadow into the dark brown to give it a little depth.

In an effort to keep the eye slightly less dramatic, I skipped my usual heavy cat eye and applied just a little bit of a dark, matte navy shadow as a smoky liner. I finished with a couple coats of  Clinique Lash Power Mascara Long-Wearing Formula Black Onyx ($16) and lined the inner rim of my eyes with my flesh-toned NYX wonder pencil ($4.49).

neutral smoky eye bh cosmetics 120 color palette vol 2 2nd editionneutral smoky eye bh cosmetics 120 color palette vol 2 2nd edition pink lips nyx round case lipstick spell bound
Originally I paired it with a more playful, pink lip. This one is NYX Round Case Lipstick in Spell Bound ($3.99). Of the roughly 800 hot pink lipsticks I own, I think this shade is the most wearable for everyday use.

rockabilly retro pink lips lipstick yellow knotted headscarf wrap updo modern vintage pinup makeup neutral smoky eyenyx round case lipstick spell bound spellbound hot pink fuschia lips swatch rockabilly retro pink lips lipstick yellow headscarf messy updo modern vintage neutral smoky eye

Then I decided I wanted to take it up a notch, mainly as an excuse to try out my new e.l.f. Studio Matte Lip Color in Rich Red ($3). I’ve had mixed results with e.l.f. products, but I’ve been in the market for a true red lipstick and this one knocks it out of the park. The texture is extremely lightweight, almost like a liquid tint, but it has the even coverage of a creamy product. It’s a lot like one of those ubiquitous chubby pencil/gloss stain sticks, but it has a finer point for greater precision. It went on semi-sheer and built to an opaque finish after two coats, then lasted through a vegan taco lunch (don’t judge) without disappearing. I also have it in Natural, and both colors make an excellent base for layering sheer lipsticks or glosses. Such a great impulse buy! FYI, if you’re interested in more e.l.f., their neutral eyeshadows are also good, but the vibrant colored shadows are kind of weak. My other favorite e.l.f. products so far have been the Essential Regular & Waterproof Mascara Duo and Zit Zapper for only $1 each(!). Seriously, snap those up.

e.l.f. Studio Matte Lip Color in Rich Red lip stain pencil e.l.f neutral smoky eyes bright red lips true red lipstick

One thought on “Neutral Smoky Eyes with Red Lips

Leave a comment