Maybelline Fit Me! Shine Free Foundation Review

Backlog time! Today I’m reviewing Maybelline Fit Me! Shine Free Foundation ($8.99). I bought this last month and had hoped to review it then, but just couldn’t make it happen. Luckily it’s still a new product (I actually had to try several stores before I could find it in stock!), so this should still be relevant.

So, I’m a foundation noob. Foundation isn’t as exciting as eyeliner, and I *HATE* the feeling of heavy products suffocating my skin. If I wear anything, it’s always mineral foundation or a BB cream, because my past experiences with liquid or cream foundations ended with me looking and feeling cakey. I had heard good things about this stuff being really light for the summer, so I decided to bite the bullet.

First of all, I like the packaging, and not just for aesthetic reasons. A stick foundation is easier to carry around in my bag than a liquid or powder foundation. Significantly reduced spill potential! I have to wonder if they’re knocking off the Stila CC Cream Stick ($38), though. I did a double take when I saw how similar they look, but I have no idea how close the formulas are.

maybelline fit me shine free stick foundation shade 115 light fair pale wet n wild coverall pressed powder 823b

I read that setting powder was a must and I didn’t have any on hand, so I bought the cheapest powder I could find to go with it. This is Wet n’ Wild Coverall Pressed Powder ($1.99), and it’s actually pretty nice on its own!

Next, I’m not sure if there’s a reason to separate the two layers of the foundation, or if that’s just to look cool. Whatever the case, this stuff DOES have a very natural matte (but not too matte) finish. It feels very powdery and blends in seamlessly. It looks like natural skin and almost feels like it! It’s extremely comfy and lightweight, the coverage is also very light. This is a plus for me, because I don’t want to LOOK like I have foundation on, and I’m only really using the product to color correct and not to mask major blemishes or red spots. If you do need more coverage, this stuff would not work well for that purpose.

maybelline fit me shine free stick foundation shade 115 light fair pale

I also made the mistake of applying way too much on my first try, which gave me a dewier, heavier look that some other bloggers mentioned. It settled in my pores, which is a pet peeve of mine. I tried to matte it out with the pressed powder, but that only weighed me down more. Now I know to just swipe a little on wherever I need it and not to slather my whole face. Lesson learned.

maybelline fit me shine free stick foundation swatch 115 light fair pale
Yuck! Too much.
maybelline fit me shine free stick foundation review 115 light fair pale
Yeah! A light application is much better!

OH, by the way, you should start following my blog if you haven’t already, because I have a giveaway in the works! More details soon.

7 thoughts on “Maybelline Fit Me! Shine Free Foundation Review

  1. It’s funny that stick foundations are coming back “in”…they were really popular in the late 90’s. I guess all things go in cycles, even makeup. I’ve had my eye on this one, thanks for reviewing it!

    • I remember that stuff! It always looked like it had a really heavy texture and I was way too scared to try it. Luckily, this was refreshingly light!

  2. I’ve been using this foundation for some time too. It gives you only light coverage, but it’s an affordable product that delivers decent results. Nothing special, but good overall.

    • Nice summation. That’s pretty much why I use it- I don’t wear foundation frequently enough to invest in a better product, so this is a good, cheap solution.

    • It’s 115 and it matches me perfectly! Drugstore brands usually lean really orange or pink on me. 110 was a little too pink, but 115 has just the right yellow undertone.

Leave a Reply

