Urban Decay Naked Flushed Review

My Stila highlighting and contour kit bit the dust and has long been discontinued (I’m sad, it was so good), so I needed a replacement.

I’ve been just using my Benefit Hoola bronzer ($28) to contour, but it’s nice to have an all-in-one kit, you know? I had a really tough time finding one that was matte enough. Shimmery bronzers don’t make a lot of sense to me when you’re going for contour, but whatever. Finally I decided on Urban Decay’s Naked Flushed ($30).

urban decay naked flushed packaging urban decay naked flushed bronzer highlighter blush contour trio
 (Lipstick shown for scale)

I was afraid that the colors would be really intense, so I tried to only use a little bit. They were actually reasonably sheer, even on my complexion! I ended up using a normal amount of each. The texture was really nice, the application was smooth and they blended well. The highlighter is shimmery for sure, but luckily it isn’t super glittery. I can use all of these on my face without looking crazy. I particularly like how they included a blush and mirror all in the one (thin!) compact, making this a great travel option (just remember to bring your own brush). I still wish a matte highlighter was included. Matte highlighter is my secret weapon (guess I’ll have to stick with nude matte eyeshadow in the meantime).

urban decay naked flushed highlight contour swatch

For the sake of experimentation, I also used all three shades as eyeshadow and thought the resulting  natural eye was really nice. Again, good to know for traveling light. I lined with Urban Decay’s 24/7 Pencil in Ransom ($19) and finished with L’Oreal Waterproof Voluminous Volume Building Mascara ($7.99).

urban decay naked flushed review

I wanted a sheer lip, so I used just a touch of OCC Lip Tar in Lydia ($18) and covered with a layer of Tokyo Milk Dark Lip Elixir ($7 alone, or in a set with a perfume and hand cream for $16). This balm is a little waxy, but it provides a unique satin finish that I like. It’s nice to layer over a matte product when you want to moisturize but don’t want too much glossiness. I’ve tried the salted caramel and clove cigarette scents so far and really, really like them.

One thought on “Urban Decay Naked Flushed Review

  1. Pingback: Gothy Summer Makeup – Subtle Smoky Eyes and Dark Lips | Lexi's Look of the Day

Leave a Reply

