How switching your lipstick shade can change your look

If you’ve glanced through my blog at all, you know I’m obsessed with eye makeup. This year, I’ve started getting more into lip color and I thought it would be fun to showcase how much the rest of your look can change just by switching your lip color. I’m excited.

The eyes are the same in each look. I’m wearing “Cosmic” and “Sand in the Glass” on my eyes, a rose gold and off-white shadow from the Jasmine Edition Disney x Sephora Palette ($55), plus the shimmery brown “Abu” shade along my lower lid. I lined my eyes with the middle shade of the Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Eyeliner Trio Nude Collection ($11.99), which is my go-to liner right now for a quick, more natural look for school, and finished up with L’Oreal Waterproof Voluminous Volume Building Mascara ($7.99)

So here are the results of my experiment. Please also note the sub-experiment of how even different shades of red have a markedly different effects.

Sweet girl: Sheer berry pink gloss Nyx “Mood” lipgloss in Sensual ($4.49)

nyx mood gloss sensual berry pink lip gloss swatch nyx mood gloss sensual berry pink lipgloss closeup

Flirty girl: Matte bubblegum pink Nyx Matte Lipstick in Audrey ($5.99)

nyx matte lipstick audrey bubblegum hot pink nyx matte lipstick audrey bubblegum bright pink swatch closeup

Artsy girl: Blue-based red Nyx Round Case Lipstick in Chic Red ($3.99)
(side note, this is my absolute, hands-down, favorite red lipstick! I like different red shades for different occasions, but this one feels most like “me”)

nyx round case lipstick chic red neutral shimmer eyeshdaow
nyx round case lipstick chic red matte blue based swatch closeup

Tough Girl: Intense, rusty brick red Nyx Round Case Lipstick in Hero ($3.99)

nyx round case lipstick hero red glossy dark brick rust lip

nyx round case lipstick hero red glossy dark brick swatch closeup

Party girl: Fuchsia-red Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick-Kate Moss Collection No. 9 ($5.19)

rimmel london lasting finish lipstick by kate moss berry redrimmel london lasting finish lipstick by kate moss berry red swatch closeup

Laid-back girl: Nude pink Buxom Big and Healthy Lip Stick in Amsterdam ($19)

buxom big and healthy lip stick amsterdam nude lipstickbuxom big and healthy lip stick amsterdam nude lipstick swatch closeup

Trendy girl: Bright orange Mirenesse Glossy Kiss in Quick Kiss ($26.55)

Mirenesse Glossy Kiss quick kiss orange red lipstick Mirenesse Glossy Kiss lip pencil lipstick quick kiss swatch

Dramatic girl: Gothy, deep eggplant lip Nyx Round Lipstick in Almost Black ($3.99)

nyx round lipstick bruised almost black dark plum berry goth lip swatchnyx round lipstick bruised almost black dark purple goth lip swatch

And so on. I could keep going with these, but then I’d be up all night.

6 thoughts on “How switching your lipstick shade can change your look

  1. Pingback: Ipsy Glam Bag vs. Birchbox Review | Lexi's Look of the Day

  2. I like the orange (makes your eyes pop), nude pink and the blackened eggplant. Lately I’ve been wearing Revlon’s Va Va Violet like nobody’s business.

  3. Great examples, I love the trendy girl orange. We have the same labret scar, BTW! Do you still wear yours? It’s been over 10 years since I wore mine, and I don’t think it’ll ever go away 😦

    • Thank you! I’ve only had the piercing out for a year, so I can’t say if it’s ever going to go away. It’s small enough not to bother me, so I guess I can handle it being around forever. I actually only really notice it when I’m editing my lip swatch photos!

Leave a Reply

