Simple but polished. Liquid liner and sheer red lip gloss.

stilla sparkle waterproof liquid eye liner spectrum

It was getting late and I didn’t want to wash a lot of makeup off my face at the end of the night or risk having it smudge after a hard night of lounging, so tonight I tried a deconstructed version of my beloved retro makeup. To keep it light, I used an off-black liquid liner and no mascara. No mascara! I lined my upper lashline with Stila Sparkle Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner in Spectrum ($22) Which is marketed as black with rainbow sparkles, but which ends up looking like a deep gunmetal that lightly sparkles when the light catches it. I kept the line very tight but thickened it at the outer corners to fake the same kind of optical illusion mascara creates but without all the product.

stilla sparkle waterproof liquid eye liner spectrum be a bombshell hot mess

See the liner flare?

For the lips, I used Be a Bombshell Lip Gloss in Hot Mess ($14), which is a true red that builds from sheer to opaque. Kevyn Aucion always cited sheer red gloss as one of his favorite universally flattering products, and I take his word pretty highly. I learned about this product line through Ipsy, and so far I’m enjoying the gloss a lot. The color is completely flat (no shimmer whatsoever) which lends itself to vintage looks. I like how well the color can build from sheer to opaque. It has a pretty standard texture and I didn’t notice any smell. Most importantly, the color is really pretty!

sheer red be a bombshell lip gloss hot mess swatch

Yay! I like finding new ways to streamline my application when I need to look polished quickly.stilla sparkle waterproof liquid eyeliner spectrum

Leave a Reply

