Neutral Smoky 60’s Eye

I’m trying to get back into the swing of this blog again.  In the last year I studied for the LSAT, planned my wedding, watched my child enter his terrible two’s, rented out my house, moved to a new state and started law school.  Life has been hectic, but I’m finally getting used to my new routine.  That means my makeup blog is back!

So I’ve been doing a lot of neutral eyes and red lips these days (keeping my standard cat eyes, of course).  I think I’m using fewer bright colors partially because I’m mourning the loss of my warm climate and partially because I’m trying to get used to a more conservative classroom environment.  Regardless, I’m having fun with the change.  Here’s how I did it today:
retro neutral smokey eye retro neutral smokey eye cat eyes

Lipstick: Buxom Lip Tarnish in Scandal ($19) over Buxom Big and Healthy Lip Stick in Brooklyn ($19).  Brooklyn is one of my favorite lipsticks right now, the color is a lovely, subtle red that pairs well with any kind of eye makeup and the minty tingle isn’t as extreme as most Buxom products.

Eyes: light coat of Urban Decay Big Fatty Mascara ($20), NYX Collection Noir Black Liquid Liner ($5.99), NYX single eyeshadow in My Favorite Color ($4.99) on center of lid and highlight, BH Cosmetics individual shadow BHWS05 ($1.95) on upper half of crease, MAC eyeshadow in Mulch ($15) on lower half of crease, TheBalm Meet Matt(e) Shadow in Matt Battali ($34.50 for pallette of 9) in outer corner and BH Cosmetics individual shadow BHWS15 ($1.95) along outer half of the lower lashline. Lining the lower eyelid in a dusky shade like this is one of my favorite tricks at the moment.  It’s an easy way to transform a fresh, daytime look into a more sultry night look.  Instant bedroom eyes!

Face: NYX Cream Blush in Boho Chic ($6.99) on apples of cheeks, TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer ($24) as an all-over highlighter for a pretty glow.

And there you have it!  My love for the 60’s is only increasing as I get older (and curvier), so this retro infusion is becoming more and more of a standard look for me.

Leave a Reply

